X Factor – Talent vs Commercial potential

It seems to be that each year the X Factor moves much like Big Brother into a formulaic way of working. The commercial potential of the artist seems to be more important than their ability to sing and perform.  I guess some officianado will lambast me for simply not getting that the X Factor is exactly about commercial potential.

Well for me the X Factor is the hairs standing up on the back of my neck and a well of emotional reaction to a performance. Those things do not happen for me unless someone can sing with their heart and soul and critically in tune.

I will continue to watch in the hope of inspiration but for me this year since the departure of Gamu their is no one that has inspired me with the exception of Mary Byrne sing soul mama sing and just now Treyc, effortless and flawless.

Leave a Reply

